Chair - Prof. Dr. William Gropp

  • Bill Gropp


Please note that the call for PhD Forum is now closed!

The PhD Forum provides an opportunity for PhD students to present research results in a setting that sparks scientific exchange and lively discussions. It consists of two parts: a set of back-to-back short lightning talks followed by a poster session. The lightning talks give a quick, to-the-point presentation of research objectives and early results, while the posters will provide more in-depth information as a starting point for intense discussions.

Submitted PhD Forum proposals will be reviewed by the ISC 2017 PhD Forum Program Committee, which is headed by Prof. Dr. Bill Gropp, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, with Prof. Dr. Gerhard Wellein, University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, as Deputy Chair.

The PhD Forum will be held on Monday, June 19, 2017. Attendance will require at least an Exhibition Pass.

Important Dates

 Submission Deadline

Friday, March 3, 2017, 11:59 pm AoE

(firm, no extensions)

 Notification of Acceptance
Thursday, April 13, 2017
 Final Presentation Slides due
Monday, June 5, 2017
 PhD Forum
Monday, June 19, 2017
 Final Posters/Presentation Slides in PDF due Friday, June 23, 2017

Areas of Interest

Topics may range from performance analysis to optimization, from tools to applications, and from software engineering to hardware architectures. Essentially, all areas covered in the call for research papers also accepted for the PhD Forum presentations. We strongly encourage submissions by students in an early phase of their PhD work.

Submission & Review Process

PhD Forum proposals need to be submitted via the ISC 2017 submission site at by Friday, March 3, 2017. The following information needs to be provided in the online submission form:

  • Title
  • Author information
  • Summary of research objectives/early results (500 words maximum)
  • Topic area
  • One to five keywords
  • Draft of the poster as PDF file, 1 page maximum (the final poster may not exceed A0 portrait paper size (841 mm x 1189 mm/33.1” x 46.8”) or A1 landscape paper size (594 mm x 841 mm/23.4” x 33.1”) (accepted posters can be revised based on reviewer feedback)

The PhD Forum Program Committee will review and evaluate all submitted proposals based on their originality, significance, quality and clarity. Each proposal (that is, the title, summary of research objectives, topic area, keywords, and draft of the poster) will be reviewed double-blind (see ISC 2017 Double-Blind Review Guidelines) by at least three reviewers and should be submitted in a form suitable for anonymous review. The PhD Forum Program Committee will select the proposals for presentation at ISC 2017.

Terms & Conditions

  • Students who wish to participate in the ISC 2017 PhD Forum must not have defended their PhD thesis by the time of the conference (June 2017).
  • By submitting a PhD Forum proposal, you agree to give a short lightning talk and present a poster at the ISC 2017 PhD Forum in Frankfurt, Germany.
  • PhD Forum presenters need to be registered ISC 2017 participants, and only posters of registered presenters will be admitted. The ISC organizers will grant a 100% discount on the conference day pass to one presenter per PhD Forum contribution for the day of their presentation (or an equivalent discount on the full conference pass).
  • The presenters will have to provide a set of five slides (including a title slide) for their lightning talk by Monday, June 5, 2017 at the latest.
  • During the poster session, the presenters are required to be available at their posters for discussions.
  • Poster presenters are responsible for creating, printing and transporting their posters to the conference. The final poster may not exceed A0 portrait paper size (841 mm x 1189 mm/33.1” x 46.8”) or A1 landscape paper size (594 mm x 841 mm/23.4” x 33.1”).
  • The ISC organizers will provide poster boards, numbers, topic areas, tape etc. for the poster session.
  • Travel, accommodation, registration fees and other such costs will not be covered by the ISC organizers.


SpringerAfter the poster session, the PhD Forum Program Committee will elect one student to receive the "ISC 2017 PhD Forum Award”. The award is sponsored by Springer, the international publisher specializing in science, technology and medicine. The winner will receive a high-end tablet and a 250 € book voucher from Springer.

Travel Support


All PhD Forum presenters are eligible to receive travel support. The funding is provided by the DFG priority program 1648 "Software for Exascale Computing" (SPPEXA). A total of 6,000 euros will be distributed fairly according to the number of presenters and the regions of residence.

Presentation Slides for Attendees

The ISC organizers will make the posters/presentation slides available online a week after the event, provided as PDF files. ISC 2017 attendees will receive an e-mail with the access link. PhD Forum presenters are kindly requested to provide a PDF version of their posters/presentation slides to Ms. Tanja Grünter at by Friday, June 23, 2017 at the latest.



The PhD Forum Program Committee is an international committee of HPC experts. From all PhD Forum proposals submitted, the Committee selects the best ones for presentation at ISC and one contribution to receive the "ISC PhD Forum Award".

  • Florina Ciorba, University of Basel, Switzerland
  • Anshu Dubey, Argonne National Laboratory, USA
  • Anne Elster, Norwegian University of Science & Technology, Norway
  • Fernanda Foertter, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA
  • William Gropp, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA (Chair)
  • Paul Kelly, Imperial College London, UK
  • Lois Curfman McInnes, Argonne National Laboratory, USA
  • Miriam Mehl, Universität Stuttgart, Germany
  • Kengo Nakajima, University of Tokyo, Japan
  • Boyana Norris, University of Oregon, USA
  • Amanda Randles, Duke University, USA
  • Olaf Schenk, Università della Svizzera Italiana, Switzerland
  • Ana Lucia Varbanescu, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • Richard Vuduc, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
  • Gerhard Wellein, Friedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany (Deputy Chair)
  • Felix Wolf, Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany
  • Roman Wyrzykowski, Czestochowa University of Technology, Poland