Reinventing HPC

ISC High Performance attendees can look forward to a number of prestigious awards that recognize research excellence in high performance computing.



Research Paper Awards

The following awards will be given to outstanding research papers submitted to the conference:


The Hans Meuer Award honors the most outstanding research paper submitted to the conference’s Research Papers Committee. This award has been introduced in the memory of the late Dr. Hans Meuer, general chair of the ISC conference from 1986 through 2014, and co-founder of the TOP500 project.

From all submitted research papers, the Research Papers Committee will select the overall best paper for the award. The winner will be announced at the ISC High Performance Opening Session and will be given the opportunity to present a keynote talk on their work in one of the research paper sessions.

The winners of the Hans Meuer Award will also receive a cash prize of 1,500 Euros each and an award certificate.

The two papers selected as the winners of the Hans Meuer Award at ISC 2020 Digital are:

Under normal circumstances, both finalists would have fought for the award in front of a live audience in Frankfurt.



The GCS Award honors the most outstanding research paper submitted to the Research Papers Committee in the field of HPC. The GCS Award has been a key component of the conference each year since the foundation of the Gauss Centre for Supercomputing (GCS) in 2008. It is sponsored by GCS, an alliance of Germany's three national supercomputing centers — the High-Performance Computing Center Stuttgart (HLRS), Jülich Supercomputing Centre (JSC), and Leibniz Supercomputing Centre (LRZ).

The winner of the GCS Award will be announced during the conference opening session and will receive a cash prize of 5,000 Euros along with an award certificate.

The paper selected as the winner of the GCS Award at ISC 2020 Digital is:

Solving Acoustic Boundary Integral Equations Using High Performance Tile Low-Rank LU Factorization, authored by Kadir Akbudak, Noha Alharthi, Rabab Alomairy, Hakan Bagci, Rui Chen, David Keyes, Hatem Ltaief





The PhD Forum Program Committee will elect one student to receive the "ISC 2020 PhD Forum Award”. The award is sponsored by Springer, the international publisher specializing in science, technology and medicine. The winner receives a high-end tablet from Springer.

The poster selected as the winner of the PhD Forum Award at ISC 2020 Digital is:

ComPar: Optimized Compiler for Automatic OpenMP Source-to-Source Parallelization using Code Segmentation and Hyperparameters Tuning by Gal Oren, Yoel Vaizman, Shlomi Tofahi, May Hagbi, Yoni Cohen, Gilad Guralnik, Reuven Regev Farag, Lee-or Alon, Re’em Harel and Idan Mosseri.




The ISC Research Poster Award is given to two outstanding research posters submitted to the conference and are sponsored by the conference organizers. The authors of the award-winning posters will be invited to submit a paper to the International Journal “Supercomputing Frontiers and Innovations” (JSFI) as full paper or short communication.


The following Research Posters were selected to receive the 2020 Award:



The following awards were accorded at ISC 2019:

Research Paper Awards:

The paper selected as the finalist for the Hans Meuer Award at ISC 2019 is: 

ISC 2019 Hans Meuer Award
Yutong Lu, Ignacio Laguna (Hans Meuer Award winner) and Carsten Trinitis


The paper selected as the winner of the Gauss Award at ISC 2019 is:

ISC 2019 Gauss Award
Dr. Claus Axel Müller (GCS Managing Director), Dr. Frank Müller (Gauss Award winner) and Prof. Dr.-Ing. Michael M. Resch (Chairman of the International GCS Award Committee and Director at the High Performance Computing Center Stuttgart/HLRS)


We congratulate the award recipients!