Reinventing HPC


ISC High Performance attendees can look forward to a number of prestigious awards that recognize research excellence in high performance computing.



The following awards will be given to two outstanding research papers submitted to the conference:



The Hans Meuer Award honors the most outstanding research paper submitted to the conference’s Research Papers Committee. This award has been introduced in the memory of the late Dr. Hans Meuer, general chair of the ISC conference from 1986 through 2014, and co-founder of the TOP500 project.

From all submitted research papers, the Research Papers Committee will select the overall best paper for the award. The winner will be announced at the ISC High Performance Tuesday Keynote Session and will be given the opportunity to present a keynote talk on their work in one of the research paper sessions. The winner of the Hans Meuer Award will also receive a cash prize of 5,000 Euros and an award certificate.

These two papers have been shortlisted for the Hans Meuer Award:

  • Load-balancing Parallel Relational Algebra, authored by Sidharth Kumar and Thomas Gilray
  • Time Series Mining at Petascale Performance, authored by Amir Raoofy, Prof. Martin Schulz, Carsten Trinitis, Dai Yang and Dr. Roman Karlstetter



GCS Award


The GCS Award honors the most outstanding research paper submitted to the Research Papers Committee in the field of HPC. The GCS Award has been a key component of the conference each year since the foundation of the Gauss Centre for Supercomputing (GCS) in 2008. It is sponsored by GCS, an alliance of Germany's three national supercomputing centers — the High-Performance Computing Center Stuttgart (HLRS), Jülich Supercomputing Centre (JSC), and Leibniz Supercomputing Centre (LRZ).

The winner of the GCS Award will be announced during the conference opening session by the ISC 2020 Research Papers chair. The winner will receive a cash prize of 5,000 Euros, courtesy of GCS, presented during the  Research Papers Award session by Professor Dieter Kranzlmüller, chairman of the GCS Award Committee, along with an award certificate. The award winner also has the opportunity to present a keynote talk on the winning paper during the award session. 



The ISC Research Poster Awards will be given to outstanding research posters submitted to the conference.

The ISC Research Posters Committee will evaluate the short presentations and research posters on-site and select one winner* in each of the eight main submission categories as listed in the call for research papers:

  1.  Architectures, networks & infrastructure

  2.  Data, storage & visualization

  3.  HPC applications

  4.  HPC algorithms

  5.  Programming models & systems software

  6.  Artificial intelligence & machine learning

  7.  Performance modeling & measurement

  8.  Emerging technologies

*NOTE: The eight ISC Research Poster Award winners will receive a cash prize of 250 Euro and a certificate each. The ISC Research Poster Awards are sponsored by the conference organizers.



Springer LogoAfter the PhD Forum poster session, the PhD Forum Program Committee will elect one student to receive the "ISC 2020 PhD Forum Award”. The award is sponsored by Springer, the international publisher specializing in science, technology and medicine. The winner receives a high-end tablet from Springer.