Reinventing HPC


ISC High Performance features a number of prestigious awards that recognize research excellence in high performance computing.


Jack Dongarra Early Career Award

The annual Jack Dongarra Early Career Award and Lecture Series commemorates Professor Jack Dongarra’s lifelong contributions to the field of high performance computing and to the HPC community. The award and lecture will be incorporated into the conference series starting in 2023.

Jack Dongarra Early Career Award Winner Torsten HoeflerProfessor Torsten Hoefler of ETH Zurich, Switzerland received the first Jack Dongarra Early Career Award. This award acknowledges his significant contributions to converging HPC and AI.




The Hans Meuer Award honors the most outstanding research paper submitted to the conference’s Research Papers Committee. This award has been introduced in the memory of the late Dr. Hans Meuer, general chair of the ISC conference from 1986 through 2014, and co-founder of the TOP500 project.

The paper selected as the winner of the ISC 2023 Hans Meuer Award is:

Expression Isolation of Compiler-Induced Numerical Inconsistencies in Heterogeneous Code
authored by Dolores Miao (University of California, USA), Ignacio Laguna (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA), Cindy Rubio-González (University of California, USA)

The Hans Meuer Award includes a cash prize of 3,000 Euros and an award certificate.

Research Paper Award Winner


Springer, the international publisher specializing in science, technology and medicine, sponsors the call for research posters with the research poster award which recognizes three outstanding research posters as selected by members of the posters committee.

The Research Poster Award includes a cash prize of 500 Euros (first place), 300 Euros (second place) and 200 Euros (third place).

The following posters received the ISC 2023 Research Poster Award:

  • 1st place: MPI4Dask: Efficient MPI-based Communication for Scalable Accelerated Dask Applications
    authored by Jinghan Yao, Aamir Shafi, Hari Subramoni, Dhabaleswar K. Panda (The Ohio State University, USA)

  • 2nd place: HPC Applications on Disaggregated Memory Systems
    authored by Jacob Wahlgren, Ivy B. Peng (KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden), Maya Gokhale (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA)

  • 3rd place: RACE: Speeding Up Sparse Iterative Solvers Using Cache Blocked Matrix Power Kernels
    authored by Christie Alappat, Georg Hager, Gerhard Wellein (Friedrich-Alexander-University Erlangen-Nuremberg (FAU), Germany), Jonas Thies (TU Delft, Netherlands)

Research Poster ISC 2023