Transforming the Future

ISC 2022 Call for Bird-of-a-Feather Sessions


Attention all potential proposal submitters! We are committed to hosting ISC 2022 on-site and will fulfill all the safety standards prescribed by the German government and health authorities pertaining to Covid-19. Therefore, we strongly encourage submissions from people who plan to attend the conference in person.

Like-minded ISC attendees come together in our informal Birds-of-a-Feather (BoF) sessions to discuss current HPC topics, network and share their thoughts and ideas. Each 60-minute BoF session addresses a different topic and is led by one or more individuals with expertise in the area. BoFs are different in nature from panels, technical paper sessions, tutorials, vendor talks, and other, more presentation-oriented parts of the ISC program. Proposals that cannot demonstrate a clear concept for the intended interactivity of their BoF will be rejected. During and after the conference, attendees will be asked for feedback on all program components, including BoFs. The amount of interactivity will be given special attention in the survey.

Submitted BoF proposals will be reviewed by the ISC 2022 BoFs Committee, which is headed by Roman Wyrzykowski, Czestochowa University of Technology, Poland, as Chair with Iosif Meyerov, Lobachevsky State University of Nizhni Novogorod, Russia as Deputy Chair.



Submissions will be accepted through February 2, 2022.

Attendance requires an Exhibition Pass.
ISC 2022 registration fees will be published in spring 2022.

Important dates

 Submission Deadline 
February 2, 2022 11:59 pm AoE
 Notification of Acceptance
March 3, 2022
Submission of Final List of Speakers Deadline April 29, 2022
Submission of Final Presentation Slides Deadline tbd
 BoF Sessions  May 30 - June 1, 2022


Chair - Roman Wyrzykowski

 BoFs Chair
Roman Wyrzykowski, Czestochowa University of Technology, Poland   
BoFs Deputy Chair Iosif Meyerov, Lobachevsky State University of Nizhni Novogorod, Russia 



BoF sessions are intended to cover all areas of interest as listed in the call for research papers.


Submissions will be accepted through February 2, 2022


BoF session proposals need to be submitted via the ISC 2022 Linklings submission site.

Submission Guidelines

Required information

  • Title of the BoF session
  • BoF organizer/speaker information
  • Short abstract (250 words maximum)
  • Topic area (as listed in the call for research papers)
  • One to five keywords
  • Maximum intended fraction of time spent for presentations
  • Description of approach to make the BoF interactive
  • Targeted audience
  • Estimated number of attendees


  • Minimum 3 reviewers
  • Criteria: originality, significance, quality, clarity and diversity and a clear concept for the required interactive nature of a BoF

Final decision (March 3, 2022)

  • Selection of BoFs
  • Allocation of the time slot
  • Notifications of authors


  • ISC 2022 is planned as an in-person conference from May 29 to June 2, 2022 in Hamburg, Germany. By submitting a BoF proposal, the submitter agrees to organize and host the BoF session at ISC 2022 in Hamburg, Germany.
  • BoF presenters need to be registered ISC 2022 participants.
  • The ISC organizers will provide meeting room facilities and basic technical equipment for the BoF sessions.
  • Travel, accommodation, registration fees and other such costs will not be covered by the ISC organizers.

Attendance will require at least an Exhibition Pass.


The ISC organizers will make the presentation materials available within the event platform for registered attendees only.

  • Roman Wyrzykowski, Czestochowa University of Technology, Poland (Chair)
  • Iosif Meyerov, Lobachevsky State University of Nizhni Novogorod, Russia (Deputy Chair)
  • Michael Bader, TUM, Germany
  • Claudia Blaas-Schenner, TU Wien, VSC Research Center, Austria
  • Dominik Göddeke, University of Stuttgart, Germany
  • Aleksandar Ilic, INESC-ID, Instituto Superior Técnico, Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal
  • Jacek Kitowski, AGH University of Science and Technology, Poland
  • Dieter Kranzlmueller, Ludwig Maximilian University Munich (LMU), Leibniz Rechenzentrum, Germany
  • Carola Kruse, Centre Européen de Recherche et de Formation Avancée en Calcul Scientifique (CERFACS), France
  • Krzysztof Kurowski, Poznan Supercomputing and Networking Center, Poland
  • Marco Lapegna, University of Naples Federico II, Italy
  • Simon McIntosh-Smith, University of Bristol, United Kingdom
  • Koji Nakano, Hiroshima University, Japan
  • Gabriel Oksa, Slovak Academy of Sciences, Slovakia
  • Dana PETCU, West University of Timisoara, Institute e-Austria Timisoara, Romania
  • Antonio J. Peña, Barcelona Supercomputing Center (BSC), Spain
  • Thomas Rauber, University of Bayreuth, Germany
  • Lubomir Riha, IT4Innovations National Supercomputing Center, Technical University of Ostrava, Czech Republic
  • Masha Sosonkina, Old Dominion University, United States of America
  • Vladimir Stegailov, Higher School of Economics, JIHT RAS, Russia
  • Dave Turner, Kansas State University, United States of America
  • Bora Ucar, CNRS; LIP, ENS-Lyon, France